News that will be of no surprise to anyone

The 2016 Enduro World Series finished in ‘the home of enduro’ – Finale Ligure, Italy. Here’s who won what and how.

>>> Why did Yeti move from Downhill to Enduro?

The complete Enduro World Champions titles

Men’s World Champion: Richie Rude

Women’s World Champion: Cecile Ravanel

Men’s Under 21 World Champion: Adrien Dailly

Women’s Under 21 World Champion: Raphaela Richter

Masters World Champion: Michael Broderick

Team World Champions: Rocky Mountain Urge bp

What happened

Despite the somewhat inevitable results there were a few notable things about the Finale EWS.

Richie Rude (Yeti/Fox Shox) became the first man to win back-to-back EWS titles. Martin Maes (GT Factory Racing) took his first ever EWS win. Legends Nico Vouilloz and Anne-Caroline Chausson announced their retirements.


Rude: “To lead the series from the first race and then to come second today and get the overall again feels amazing. I was playing it safe today but I was having a lot of fun too. This was my chance to get the double and I got it – now I’m just looking forward to a couple of weeks off.”


Maes in particular had a flyer. He won all of the stages on Saturday. He took it relatively easy on Sunday to take the round win. Maes impressive result has to be put in the context of Richie Rude clearly taking it easy and playing it safe too.

But still, fair play to Maes. Will he finally fulfil his promise in 2017 and challenge for the title significantly?

Maes: “I’m so stoked to win. I’ve been waiting for so long for this and I’m just so happy for my team GT, for my sponsors and for all the people who have been supporting me over the years.”


Ravanel: “I had a little crash on stage one and that woke me up – I knew I had the title already so I was just riding for pleasure today. I’ve been working towards this moment all year and so have my team, so it’s great to be able to do this for them.”

2016 Enduro World Series top 10 placings













A word from the organiser

Chris Ball, Managing Director of the Enduro World Series: “Our 30th event, our fourth round of champions and all in the place where it all began, the stunning Finale Ligure. The local team did an outstanding job of trail building and preparing for this year, as did the riders for holding it together on seven insane stages after a long season of racing around the globe.

“A massive congratulations to our 2016 world champions and a huge thanks to all of our riders, teams, fans, organisers and supporters who are the reason the series can happen.”