What is it? Who's doing it? And why?

To whom it may concern, here are the basic facts of what Red Bull Rampage actually is.

This year’s date and time: Friday October 14th at 5:30pm (UK time).

What is it?

Pic: Dean Treml/Red Bull Content Pool

Pic: Dean Treml/Red Bull Content Pool

It’s a competition to see who can do the best series of tricks whilst riding down frightening Utah mountainsides.

The riders design and prep their own particular lines down the mountainside.

There is a jury who judges and marks the riders’ runs. Yep, a bit like Strictly Come Dancing.

It’s been going for 11 years. This year sees it move to a new site, still in Utah.

This year the organisers are trying to return the event to its roots. They’ve done away with the wooden super-structures of recent Rampages. This year’s Rampage is all dirt and rock.

>>> Watch the biggest crashes in the history of the Red Bull Rampage

What are the rules?

Pic: Christian Pondella/Red Bull Content Pool

Pic: Christian Pondella/Red Bull Content Pool

There’s no timing or anything like that. Rampage is about pulling off the biggest tricks in the best ways.

When creating their lines, riders are only allowed to be a team of two diggers.

Use of power tools is banned. As is bringing in materials from outside of the site.

There’s now no qualifying days. It’s all done on the one day.

Each rider gets two runs. The highest scoring run is the winner. In the event of a tied score, both runs scores will be added together to decide the winner.

Who’s riding?

Pic: Christian Pondella/Red Bull Content Pool

Pic: Christian Pondella/Red Bull Content Pool

21 riders in total. This is down from the 42 of previous years. Split between riders who have qualified and riders who are wildcards.

Kurt Sorge, Canada
Graham Agassiz, Canada
Brandon Semenuk, Canada
Darren Berrecloth, Canada
Brett Rheeder, Canada
James Doerfling, Canada
Kyle Norbraten, Canada
Tom van Steenbergen, Canada
Cam Zink, USA
Kyle Strait, USA
Carson Storch, USA
Logan Binggeli, USA
Tyler McCaul, USA
Remy Metailler, France
Pierre-Edouard Ferry, France
Antoine Bizet, France
Brendan Fairclough, Great Britain
Sam Reynolds, Great Britain
Conor MacFarlane, New Zealand
Andreu Lacondeguy, Spain
Thomas Genon, Belgium

Pic: Christian Pondella/Red Bull Content Pool

Pic: Christian Pondella/Red Bull Content Pool

Who are the judges?

A mix of experienced Rampage judges and previous Rampage athletes and winners.

Randy Spangler (Head Judge)
Josh Bender
Kyle Jameson
Mike Kinrade
Geoff Gulevich
Nico Vink

>>> Cam Zink attacks Red Bull Rampage in social media rant

What does the winner get?

The winner gets $150,000.

Every riders gets $5,000 as an appearance fee.

There is also a special prize for the rider who wins the People’s Choice award (decided by viewers at home by various digital voting means).

Kelly McGarry Spirit Award

Kelly McGarry was a popular Rampage competitor who sadly died earlier this year. This year sees a new award in his honour.

This Kelly McGarry Spirit Award will go to the rider who best “embodies the spirit of Kelly; the athlete that shows hard work, a good attitude and charges during practice.”

>>> Kelly McGarry 72ft backflip (video)

The winner is to be chosen by the Rampage riders themselves.

When is it happening?

Friday October 14th at 5:30pm UK time.

Where can you watch it?

You can watch it on Red Bull TV.

Why does the Red Bull Rampage exist?

Good question.

A cynical answer would be: it’s to sell cans of Red Bull.

But Rampage is bigger than mere marketing. It’s a one-off event that shows us the capabilities and potential of modern mountain bikes and their riders (or should that be pilots?)

It’s inspiring. It’s frightening.

It’s strangely something that all mountain bikers can relate to no matter their skill level. It’s about the point of no return. It’s about commitment. It’s about going out of your comfort zone. It’s about adrenalin and danger.