It’s official, Jey Clementz is the fastest enduro rider in the world again, winning the first Enduro World Series race of the season in Rotorua, New Zealand


Last year was tough for Jerome Clementz — after winning the EWS overall in 2013 he had to sit out the majority of the 2014 season after a bad crash at the French Enduro Cup. To make it back onto the top step of the podium in only his second EWS race back is quite an achievement then.

Want to ride like that? OK, we’re not promising anything, but here are Jerome Clementz’s skills tips for speed.

“We train,” said Clementz. “We don’t know what the other riders do in the winter, but we try to do our best. And when you get a reward like this — winning a race and having all of the people cheering for you — it’s a good feeling, I cannot lie.”

Although nowhere near his native homeland of France, Clementz felt right at home in the six dynamic and varying stages of the Whakarewarewa Forest and seventh final stage in the Skyline Gravity Park.


Jey Clementz reigning it in on the final stage at EWS Rotorua… he still looks like he’s ripping to us though

“This is the stuff that Jerome really likes to ride,” explained his mechanic Matteo Nati. “So we kind of got the setup on the bike sorted straight away — and tyre choice since the beginning of the week of practice. Usually, once we get the setup dialled straight away like that, we’ve got a smooth ride.”

After a full day of racing a mere 20 seconds separated Clementz and fellow countryman and three-time downhill World Champion Fabian Barel with only the final stage remaining. Barel, feeling strong as the day progressed seemed to find his stride later in the day.


The comeback king. The only thing missing for Clementz was his close rival Jared Graves

With only one final stage standing between Clementz and victory he used his matured experience and prowess to execute what would eventually become his final statement on the day solidifying the overall lead and victory in the opening round of the 2015 Enduro World Series.


1st – Jerome Clementz (Cannondale)

2nd – Fabien Barel (Canyon Factory Enduro Team)

3rd – Wyn Masters (Team Bulls)