Frank Jaworski and Paul Hore from Thetford MTB Racing have been selected by British Cycling to run the National Cross-
Country and Endurance series in 2007. British Cycling’s mtb coordinator Roger Wilbraham said: “Their pedigree, as organisers of the excellent Dusk ’til Dawn events and the Marin Winter Series, speaks for itself and British Cycling is confident the new team will run the national series with enthusiasm and efficiency.”
Thetford MTB Racing said: “We are extremely excited about taking over the National Points Series from Martyn Salt and his team at Inevent. Their hard work over the last several years has been instrumental in growing the sport of mountain biking and raising the bar with regard to providing quality events.”
The 2008 series looks set to consist of a five-event National Points Series and one-day, stand-alone National Championship event that will not count toward the series rankings. The format will remain largely the same with one small exception: the XC events will still take place on Saturday and Endurance events on Sunday, but the 25km Sunday enduro is being dropped for a 75km event.
Thetford MTB racing continued: “We’re still looking at potential venues before we release the firm schedule, but we will definitely open the series in April with the first round at Thetford. Other locations we’re currently researching include Wales, Scotland, Yorkshire, Lake District, Forest of Dean, and Margam Park.”
A new website is currently under development dedicated solely to promoting the National Points Series. The organisers are also in discussion with potential sponsors but see no reason for the pricing structure of the events to change.
For the time being, keep an eye on